The town of Windham was incorporated on May 12, 1692. Mohican Sachem Chief Joshua willed the land to sixteen men, most of whom resided in Norwich. The land called Windham consisted of what is now the towns of Windham (which includes Willimantic), Mansfield, Scotland, Chaplin, and Hampton.
The town of Windham is made up of four parts; North Windham, Windham Center, South Windham, and Willimantic. As with many towns with abundant river water-power, mills are a very large part of the history of the town. The mills sprang up around the Willimantic River in the borough of Willimantic, while Windham remained a farming community.
Not unlike the days of yore, the people of Windham stand ready to face the challenges of the future with the same passions, determination and zest for life that have been the totems of their past.
To any and all, we welcome you to join us as we seek to engage the spirit of this community that has never shied away from any challenge, that has always been willing to shoulder its fair share of local and regional responsibility and continues to celebrate its diversity as an icon of its enduring strength.
|Parks and Recreation||(860)465-3046|
|Windham Childhood Center||(860)465-2627|
|Natchaug Elementary School||(860)465-2380|
|North Windham Elementary School||(860)465-2400|
|Windham Center Elementary School||(860)465.2440|
|Sweeney Elementary School||(860)465-2420|
|Charles H. Barrows STEM Academy||(860)465-2610|
|Windham Middle School||(860)465-2350|
|Windham High School||(860)465-2460|